Episode 202 In Which I Organize Thread 12-6-16

Two episodes in two weeks! That's, like, a record or something for me...

Sandy update (and I've touched fibers, so there's an update!), a bit about clothing, and a lot about organizing my embroidery thread stash. Plus a book review!

Slow Stitch: Mindful and Contemplative Textile Art, by Claire Wellsley-Smith

Art Bin Super Satchel bins and storage rack

(As an Amazon associate, using these links helps support my podcast and blog. Thank you!)

Episode 183 In Which I've Not Fallen off the Face of the Earth 5-30-15

Hey, strangers! I know, I know. It's been awhile. Time just got away from me these last few weeks. But this episode plays catch up!

Referenced in this episode:

Episode 176 In Which I Got Some New Toys 2-22-15

In this episode I feel like I got a bit rambly, but I think it's okay because I still gave a lot of information about tools, notions, apps, and books that I've recently gotten my hands on. Plus a Sandy update about what I'm currently working on. Listener Feedback will happen next week, so get those comments in!

Felt Magazine (which I mistakenly referred to in the episode as "Felted")

Embellish Magazine

Tray Dyeing: Exploring Colour, Texture and Special Effects by Clarie Benn and Leslie Morgan

Quiltography App 

Supreme Slider


Episode 167 In Which I Actually Get Some Quilting Done 10-26-14

In this episode, I talk about what I learned from my latest Craftsy class and was able to immediately put to use on my current project; I also review two books (see below for links). 

In this episode:

Dot-to-Dot Quilting with Angela Walters (Craftsy Class)

Shape by Shape: Free-Motion Quilting with Angela Walters

Hand Dyeing Yarn and Fleece by Gail Callahan

(Craftsy and Amazon links in these show notes help support this podcast and blog. Thanks!)


Episode 158 In Which I've Got Some Reviews 5-31-14

In this episode, I have a short announcement, give a Sandy Update mostly around the near-catastrophes of free motion quilting but with happy endings, review some books and products, and do (finally!) some listener feedback.

Mentioned in this episode:

Radiant Landscapes, by Gloria Loughman (C&T Publishing, 2013)

The Complete Photo Guide to Art Quilting, by Susan Stein (Creative Publishing International, 2012)

Free Motion Quilting Workbook, by Angela Walters (C&T Publishing/Stash Books, 2014)

Sticky Fabri-Solvy (Sulky)

Wash-Away Thread (YLI)

Vanish-Lite Water Soluble Thread (Superior)

Website recommended by listener Lauren: http://www.colourlovers.com

Textile art webzine recommended by listener Carol: grumpyandmad.blogspot.com

(Using Amazon links in these show notes helps support this podcast and blog. Thanks!)



Episode 157 In Which I Went on Retreat 5-19-14

Okay, so I actually recorded this on Monday night but am just getting around to posting it tonight. Oops. But nothing's gone out of date, so we're good! In this episode, I talk about what I accomplished on retreat, and include a few product recommendations and reviews. Pictures of my retreat projects will appear on the blog later.

In this episode:

"Building Blocks" pattern by Jackie of Sew Excited Designs, available on Craftsy (Definitely check it out!)

Sew-Ezi Table

Quick Ripper seam ripper (The price seems to vary a bit every time I look at it on Amazon, so keep an eye on it.)

Banjees wrist wallet by Sprigs

Dog collar purses by Daisy Couture (And yes, most of you could make those yourselves. I prefer to support someone else's desire to make them. But I don't need to talk about that again.)

Episode 155 In Which We Try New Things 4-22-14

In this episode I talk about doing a faced binding for the first time ever, and review the book In the Studio with Angela Walters.

Referenced in this episode:

Susan Brubaker Knapp's faced binding techniques:

In the Studio with Angela Walters

Episode 154 In Which I'm Luminous and Thready 4-16-14

In this episode, I start with another in the "12 mistakes to learn from" series of 2014; then we move on to announce a newcomer in the podcasting world (woot!), give an app review, talk about luminosity in quilts, and some yummy yummy thread I've been using lately.

Find Ms. Lottie's new podcast here: The Slightly Mad Quilt Lady on iTunes or direct from Podbean.

Luminosity quilts:

  • Check out Jinny Beyer's Borealis quilt.
  • This link *should* take you to Pinterest and a search results page for "Luminosity quilts." (If it doesn't work--you're on your own to use the search engine on Pinterest and see what turns up!) My favorites, mentioned in the episode, are "It's About Time" by Janet Stedman and "Lattice Works VI" by Carol Olsen

Superior Thread's website is here.

Episode 151 In Which I'm Playing with Lancaster Toys 3-23-14

I announce the 2014 Quilty Resolutions First Quarter Check-in giveaway and linky party on my blog running this week, and give a quick preview of my Fourth Podcastaversary Giveaway next week! A Sandy Update, a book review, and some listener feedback round things out.

Mentioned in this episode:

Don't forget Daisy's giveaway at her blog: http://www.ldq.outlandishthreads.com.

Book review: Creative Stitching by Sue Spargo



Episode 147 In Which We Talk Scraps and Spas and Shape-Cuts 2-23-14

In this episode, I announce the 2014 Quilty Resolution First Quarter Check-in, then talk about Scrapitude, spa-days, and the Shape-Cut ruler. I also give a brief review of the Great Courses lecture series "How Colors Affect You: What Science Reveals" (which I mistakenly referred to as "The Science of Color" in the episode), and talk about three fitness-related apps: FitBolt, EarnedIt, and Every Move.

Episode 144 In Which I Do a Book Review 1-27-14

Welcome to episode 144! After the usual announcements (start planning ahead for another scrap mystery quilt from Charlotte!) and Sandy Update, I review the book Colorific by Pam Goecke Dinndorf (C&T Publishing). And then I have some listener feedback with great suggestions about how to fix cutting tables that are no longer flat, and you get to listen to a lightbulb go off over my head about how I can finish my cutting table in a much more stress-free fashion!

Episode 141 In Which I Get Started on 2014 1-5-14

Welcome to 2014! In this episode, I announce the winner of the Art Quilt Maps book, give a Sandy Update and a little listener feedback, and I do several reviews!

Reviewed in this episode:

LifeTopix app

Cozi family calendar

Dry Iron from Vermont Country Store (Also a few models on Amazon)

Fiskars Fingertip Rotary Cutter

"Machine Quilting" with Wendy Butler Berns (Craftsy class)

Episode 140 In Which We Had BDSI 12-29-13

In this episode, I've actually gotten some stuff done! I talk about what I've accomplished recently and how I'm setting myself up for success in achieving my goals in 2014. There's also a few recommendations and reviews.

Mentioned in this episode:

Daily Routine app, Productivity Wizard app, LifeTopix app

Podcast: Old Time Radio Mysteries

Deb Hunter's Rapid Fire Hunter Star Ruler (Petite Star)

 

 

Episode 139 In Which I Interview Author Valerie Goodwin (and a giveaway!) 12-22-13

10913.jpg

I've been so excited about this episode for so long! C&T Publishing gave me the opportunity to review the book Art Quilt Maps, by Valerie Goodwin, and connected me with her for an interview as well. Have fun listening to our conversation! The usual announcements start things off, but then we'll get right into the interview--I'll then give my own review of the book and talk about working on my own art quilt map after, plus the usual Sandy Update and listener feedback.

Check out Valerie's website at www.quiltsbyvalerie.com, or "like" her Facebook page, https://www.facebook.com/ArtQuiltMapsETC.

And now for the giveaway!

I have read this book several times now (as you'll hear in the episode), and am thankful to C&T for making a copy available for me to share with a lucky listener!

Use the Rafflecopter widget below to enter your name for this giveaway--note you can increase your chances by leaving a comment on the blog and tweeting the giveaway as well! (If you leave a comment in the blog, use the Rafflecopter widget to let me know that. Simply leaving a comment without also using the widget won't cue me that you've entered.)

A winner with a U.S. mailing address will receive a print copy of the book; if the winner has an international mailing address, s/he will receive an ebook version. '

The giveaway closes on Saturday, January 4th, at midnight (Eastern).

Episode 138 In Which We Make 2014 Quilty Resolutions 12-16-13

It's that time of year again! In this episode I give the parameters for my 2014 Quilty Resolutions Challenge. Get ready to accomplish some key things in 2014! I also review two Craftsy classes:

Creative Quilt Backs with Elizabeth Hartman

Piece, Patch, Quilt: Basic Quiltmaking Skills with Gail Kessler

Here's the link to submit your 2014 Quilty Resolutions--but be sure you've listened to the episode first to hear the parameters for this year!

And here's what one lucky entrant randomly drawn will win! Five (count 'em, 1-2-3-4-5!) fat quarters!

In my opinion, these would make a great purse.

And if someone wanted to make said purse and then gift it to one of their favorite podcasters whose podcast's acronym is QFTRU, that would not be frowned upon. Tee hee.

2014QRgiveawayJan2014.jpg

So fill out your quilty resolutions using the link above, and have your name entered in the drawing for this great fabricy goodness!

 

Episode 135 In Which We Rip It! 11-19-13

Welcome to the episode about sharp pointy things. I review three types of seam rippers and give some pros and cons to each, so that you can choose the right one to correct the errors of your ways.

Mentioned in this episode:

The Olfa Rotary Point Cutter has been discontinued, but as of the posting of this episode, I was able to find it online here.

The Havel's Ultra Pro Seam Ripper may be found here.